In the name of my god…


Severed limbs, 

cut off in the name of my god,

burned, beaten, brutalized, 

because I chose to believe a certain way,

sometimes I wonder, is it worth the trouble,

Is it worth the blood shed to hold on to a belief,

to make people believe in what you want them to believe? 

why is it that religion has all through history spread through the blood of others?

It is said that after the martyrdom at Namgongo in Uganda in 1886, Christianity spread like wild-fire in East Africa.

Every 3 June, Christians from East Africa and other parts of the world come to Namugongo to celebrate the lives of these young men who died for their faith. 

I feel that they just died in vain… 

I took these pictures during a tour of the shrine, some of them are graphic illustrations. 

FullSizeRender

IMG_20170320_155314.jpg

20170320_155750

20170320_155846

 

IMG_20170320_154806.jpg

 

10 thoughts on “In the name of my god…

  1. Thank you for sharing a piece of your history though it must grieve you greatly. the questions you ask have no answers I feel. Faith is something we cannot explain, it moves men and women to sacrifice themselves for a greater power, we cannot know how their sacrifice will matter one day, we must only give tribute and remember the sacrifice they made. Lovely sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. They are rhetorical questions, I am not looking for answers. I just want people to think beyond blind belief and then maybe such things will not be repeated. I was in Uganda for work and being a good Catholic 😀I went to visit the shrine. You’re welcome.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yes I knew they were but your plea was very heartfelt. I too cannot really comprehend the blind belief , maybe its because that’s all the have to hold on to. You have a big capacity for love, for everything you see and touch gives you deep appreciation of life.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Reminds me of the history of the Jewish people over the past two-thousand years or so. Historically, the Catholic Church would attempt to force Jews to convert to Christianity, and then spy on them to see if they refused to eat pork and if they lit the Sabbath candles on Friday evening.

    Those who refused were either exiled, tortured, or murdered outright.

    For the Jewish people, it’s not a matter of religion, but of covenant identity. Amazingly, no matter how hard the world has tried to eliminate them, they have survived, and in many places, even thrived.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

