A tale of two


ffw.jpg

“Remember how my fingers danced on top of you? I could picture each key, each sound, each note. It was like we had the same mind. If I close my eyes really tight we could almost go back to the days we played  the tales we told to the applause of silent crowds and the flowers which fell at our feet at the end of each piece.  Now both of us are old and worn, neglected we have wasted away. But we still have our memories, they can’t take those from us.”

Marie trailed the smooth canvas cover with the tips of her shaking old wrinkly fingers. She knew their time together was almost up. She also knew its fate because her children cared less about the instrument. But how could they? It was the reason they spent many nights untucked and unkissed by their mothers lips.

#147

 

Written as part of Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers. The challenge is to write a flash fiction story in around 150 words, based on the weekly photo prompt. For more information visit HERE.

To read other stories based on this week’s prompt, visit HERE.

This week’s photo prompt is provided by Mike Vore. Thank you Mike for our photo prompt!

 

34 thoughts on “A tale of two

  1. i am sure she was torn between being a mom and making a living, hard choices that kids don’t often see. well written and made me ponder whether i too spend too much time at the”keys”? LOL!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. My son is divorced and my two grandchildren move back and forth between our house and where their Mom is staying week over week. In addition to that, my son recently became infatuated with a woman who has a lot of personal issues that aren’t going to be good for my grandchildren.

        I’m watching those two kids struggle and it is very painful. I think my son is finally realizing that the woman he’s currently with is bad news, and hopefully he’s get the gumption to end his relationship with her (yes, she’s that bad).

        I guess I’m sensitive to the needs of children vs. the needs of adults. If a parent isn’t willing to sacrifice some of their desires for the sake of their children, something’s wrong. I don’t mean letting kids be self-indulgent, but as parents, we have a responsibility for creating a certain amount of emotional security for them.

        Liked by 2 people

      2. You are very right. It’s unfortunate what is happening with your son however much he must be there for his children he must also live his life, which means exploring healthy relationships with a person who may or may not become a big part of his children’s life. If a parent does not live to some degree they also cannot parent effectively. I am all for making sacrifices for children heck I have had my share of things I have had to give up completely and some I have managed to create a balance. As the children grow, so do we, and once they leave, because that’s what we are raising them for, you don’t want to look back and regret not living to some extent. Some parents who give up everything end up resenting their children for taking all “the good years” of their lives. The elusive balance is key. Include them in your hobbies, take some alone time once in a while. But all in all, being a parent is a full time job and the reward is pure love.

        Like

  2. Shows a great love for the piano and the dedication she put toward it. Hopefully, her children do not dislike the piano due to her dedication to playing it, but simply could never have the passion for it as she did. It reminds me of my mother…she was a registered nurse and loved nursing, but my sisters and I never had any desire to become a nurse! It was not because of her strong desire for nursing, but we simply did not have that kind of desire and chose different things. Great story. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

