Alone


ffw

She played in the light drizzle that was the aftermath of a heavy down pour the previous hour. Mummy was coming to pick her up and she was happy that she was late. Hood over her head, she jumped up and down in the small puddles giggling at the splash sounds. Every once in a while she looked up quickly so that mum wouldn’t catch her in the act. She always wondered why she had to dress differently than mum and why she was always picked at the back of the buildings. She hoped to wear the beautiful flowy flowery robes and scarves one day. Mum always said ‘soon’every time she asked.

She played till darkness fell.

 Mummy never came. 

#120

 

FFFAW : This week’s photo prompt is provided by Jessica Haines. Thank you Jessica for our photo prompt!

For more info on this prompts click Here

27 thoughts on “Alone

  1. Hello there, Joy! Thank you for the follow!

    I want to first say that I truly enjoyed this short story! It is beautifully written and the voice in this piece is strong and memorable. I’m currently searching for writers to add to my Journal’s magazine, The Wire’s Dream, and I would like to know if you would like to feature “Alone,” “Wordle #138,” or any other stories you’ve written or that is on your blog. Is this something you would consider?

    All submitters are featured with an interview alongside their work and all become part of the magazine’s collection. If you’re concerned about copyrights, know that my intention isn’t malicious. All submitters retain their copyrights. I consider all submitters as part of the Journal’s family and I will always treat them with respect and value. I only aim to share what I see as good work with other readers in hopes that they’re inspired too.

    Please let me know either way, yes or no, if this is something you’ll agree to do! And please take a look at the Journal and the magazine for more info: theblacklionjournal.wordpress.com/tbljournal/the-wires-dream/

    If you have questions, please feel free to contact me or leave a comment! I’ll get back to you asap.

    Christina

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

