FFfAW: Farewell


photo-20161121154638229.jpg

I took one last look at the yellow glow of the setting sun and spread her ashes. As I watched them float in the gentle evening breeze. The four years we spent together flashed before my eyes.

It was a sight to behold.

I bore no remorse for what I had done. She was barely alive, brain-dead they said. Three years, her on machines and I at her bedside, was not the life I had envisioned we would have together. Now that the plug was pulled , this place held nothing for me anymore. 

The place I had called home for such a long time now haunted my thoughts. That one year was the crown of it all. Happiness is too shallow a word to describe the feeling she brought albeit fleetingly.

My time here is over. I need to go explore the beauty of another.

#146

FFfAW Challenge – Week of November 22, 2016

This week’s photo prompt is provided by Footy and Foodie. Thank you Footy and Foodie!

24 thoughts on “FFfAW: Farewell

  1. That would be so hard to do joy. To pull the plug on someone you really love. But if they’re brain dead for that long, they’re not that person anymore so I think its right for them both to be able to move on, however, hard it is for the person left alive. A new time in life, with the sunrise.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

