Cycle of Love.


judgement.jpg

 

I held on to her hand as she scanned the road, up and down. She told me in the morning that it was my first day at “daycare”, I didn’t understand why I had to leave home and spend the whole day in some strange place.I cried and apologized for licking the sugar and hiding bits of food I didn’t like behind the arm-chair. But she was adamant putting me in white and blue stiff new clothes and shiny black shoes, “You will be fine love, and you will make many new friends”, she adjusted my little tie and I thought I saw a ghost of a tear in her eye. Well, I did look really nice but that wasn’t the point. She promised to be back by dusk to take me home where I would find my favorite ginger nut snack. 

A snap shot at the door to remember this day and off we went. 

She held my hand feebly as I scanned the road up and down. I had told her in the morning that it was now time to take her to a place where she would get properly cared for. Between my job and the kids being in school full-time it was hard to cater for all her needs. She struggled and said she can take care of herself, but her mind was all but gone by then. I was adamant, tear faced as I put her in the beautiful blue-white frock that she always loved. The home was just across the street and she would spend the day there and in the evening back at home. I promised to be back by dusk to take her home where she would find her favorite pumpkin soup. 

A snap shot at the door to remember this day and off we went. 

I stood at the door watching her calmly as she scanned the road up and down. I could feel the storm in her mind and in her heart. “Nana, are you coming?”, a little hand distracted me as it tugged at my dress. “No love, this is the beginning of your journey one that you must take alone, but I will be right here when you get back”. I kissed her forehead as her mum looked at me with tears unshed. I understood. “She will be fine love”. I squeezed her hand and watched as she took her daughters’ hand, crossed the street and walked away. I promised them I will be right here at dusk with their favorite meal. Some mashed potatoes and minced meat should do. 

I took a snap shot of them as they waved goodbye and off they went.   

 

Writing Prompt October 30th: Judgement of Self

7 thoughts on “Cycle of Love.

Leave a Reply

