Wordle 123: The Urchin of Gutter street.


“Guttersnipe”

a chorus that followed me down the streets of Gutter,

scampering on fours with stolen bread betwixt my teeth.

 

They moved as a chorus these towns folk, to each I extended my pitied dirtied palm,

a glass of water? a bite to eat? Kind Sir…

 

Nay is the antiphon.

 

With the twilight I became spectral, moving with the shadow,

I wait for a brawl to snatch a coat, to help me brawl with the chill of snow.

At my solace sole birdcage, I gnaw at my nails, whining for a break.

 

At dusk I hope for a serving of death or bread this day,

anything to remove me from this bureaucratic inertia of lazzaroni,

but everyday is a crow’s mile with no end.

week-123.png

See link for details on this challenge >> Wordle #123 “October 3rd, 2016”

16 thoughts on “Wordle 123: The Urchin of Gutter street.

  1. Loved it Joy! So very well penned. I have several favorite lines including (but not limited to!) – “brawl with the chill of snow” and “a serving of death or bread this day”. Superb. I was tempted to try this challenge but now….

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

