There is a lone grave in my fathers’ homestead…


It was 6:00am September 7th 2011 that I got a call saying you are gone,

our mum could hardly say the words, her cries were message enough,

Just a few hours before, I had told you to hold on,

even though I clearly saw, the line was so thin and drawn,

I came swiftly and found your body still warm,

you looked so peaceful, just taking a nap,

I knew you had to go, but I still couldn’t believe you were gone.

Now everytime we go home,  the fist sight is your little black cross,

wrapped in old beads of a rosary prayed at your death bed,

your white grave enveloped in green grass and wild flowers.

I know you like it,

There is a lone grave in my fathers’ homestead,

A gaping hole in our family of 8.

RestInPeace.jpg

10 thoughts on “There is a lone grave in my fathers’ homestead…

Leave a Reply

