It is time…


Reaching down into the water, I held the watch in my hand. Inside my palm I could feel it pulsating slowly, the seconds ticking by. I held it lightly ignoring the urge to squeeze the memories that it held into my blood. I knew it was time, time to let the past remain in the past, let old wounds heal. I slowly let it go and looked at it fall a little deeper inside. Just the way he disappeared under the water the day he died so that I could live…

Flash fiction 4.jpg

This week’s photo prompt is provided by Louise with The Storyteller’s Abode. Thank you Louise!

 

21 thoughts on “It is time…

  1. Lovely descriptions in your story, Joy, and a very unexpected ending. It reminds me of the Titanic movie, although your back story will probably be something quite different. It’s a very intriguing last line.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

