The Pool.


“It was really dark last night, but I’m pretty sure this is the place”, I said swatting a mosquito from my face.  “This is not a good idea”, He said as we tried to find a place to step. The whole place was one big swamp.

It had been a long drive then a long walk in the rain to get here. At some point I thought we were lost then I found my radar again. “Come on babe don’t be like that”, I prodded his ribs gently as we stood looking around at our bleak surroundings.

“There”, I said as I led him into the clearing. There it was, water so clear, you could see all the way down to the bottom. “This is very strange, you weren’t kidding!” he mused “The water is crystal like a light is illuminating it from inside”.

He reached out and stirred the water, the trigger that opened the portal. “What the…” what he was going to say was lost in the splash that followed.

I watched him disappear and the surface of the pool close.

“I am sorry,” I whispered as I waited for his life force to be added to mine.

 

9 thoughts on “The Pool.

      1. You had horror locked up. Remorseful thought seemed a little bit strange. If you were leading into a series, then I would understand better. Seize that shock value . 😉

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

