I am not your Mummy!


baby

I walked out of the door into the dark. It was raining heavily but I did not feel a drop fall on me. All I wanted was to get as far away as I could from all this. I stumbled and fell a couple of times until I sat in a puddle and cried my heart out. Why! Why! Why was this happening to me.

I remembered that morning three months ago hearing a strange sound in the kitchen. I was alone in the house and it was still dark outside. Was it the cat that sometimes strayed in to my kitchen? I decided to go investigate just so that it doesn’t swim in my weeks worth of milk like last time. I walked slowly down the stairs using my phones flash light to see where I was going.

There was something on top of the kitchen table eating out of the fruit basket. A cat! eating fruit! I switched on the light. I froze, there sitted on top of my table was a baby. It looked like a human baby, maybe a year old, munching away at my apples. I switched the light back off and ran upstairs to my room, locked the door. What the fuck was that!  My first instincts was to pray, then I thought calling the police was a better idea. I Dialed….

“Hello 911”

“Sir there is a baby sitting on my kitchen table”,

“Sir I am serious”,

“No Sir i don’t have any children”,

“No Sir, I have not been drinking”,

“No, I don’t know where it came from”,

“No i didn’t check whether it was a boy or a girl”,

“No i didn’t see anyone with the baby”,

“Could you please send someone here”,

“How do you know babies don’t hurt people”,

“Sir I am not crazy nor paranoid there is a baby in my kitchen eating my fruits”,

“I know babies don’t eat fruit but this one was”,

“Click”

Dammit.

He hung up on me.

Should I tweet it.

“Mummy” a voice said followed by scratching on my door.

I literally felt all the energy drain from my body. “why didn’t I run out” I thought. “Mummy” the small voice said again and the scratching continued. ” I am not your mummy go away!” I shouted, Or I think I shouted because I don’t even know if any sound left my throat. The scratching stopped, and I thought I heard foot steps going down the stairs and the door to my front porch opening and shutting. I was scared stiff, I passed out.

When I woke up, I don’t know how long I sat there in the dark staring at the door. I could hear my name being called from far off. Then I heard something that sounded like a siren. “Where is She?” I heard a voice. I stood up and headed to my door and opened it. I came face to face with a police man. I took him to the kitchen to show him where the baby was but my table was clean and the fruit bowl was full. “I swear sir, the baby was here and it was literally on the last apple when I saw it” , He looked at me and shook his head asked me if I have been sleeping well. I knew at that point that nobody would believe me.

Every night since that day I have not slept. For three months, the sound of the crying baby starts immediately I try to sleep and the scratching, the scratching just wont stop. I don’t know what to do. There is a storm brewing outside, the baby wont stop shouting “Mummy, Mummy.” and the crying. But I am not a mum, I have never had a child, why is it tormenting me, what do I need to do. I need to get away from this.

I walked out of the door into the dark. It was raining heavily but I did not feel a drop fall on me. All I wanted was to get as far away as I could from all this. I stumbled and fell a couple of times until I sat in a puddle and cried my heart out. Why! Why! Why was this happening to me. Why can’t it understand that I did not have a choice, I did what I had to do, I didn’t have a choice. I am not your Mummy.

2 thoughts on “I am not your Mummy!

Leave a Reply

